HarveyHouse oldThe Brownwood Area Chamber of Commerce is celebrating the 100th anniversary of the opening of Harvey House in Brownwood this year and is offering the public participation through the Harvey House Centennial Club.

The building currently houses the offices of the Brownwood Area Chamber of Commerce and the Gordon Wood Hall of Champions Museum, but this historical location next to the Depot was originally a restaurant offering a fine dining experience.

Opened by the Fred Harvey Company in 1914, this Harvey House was an hub of activity through World War II.   The beautiful 2-story structure was renovated in the 1990’s and donated to the city of Brownwood.

To commemorate the 100th anniversary, the Brownwood Area Chamber of Commerce will be unveiling a plaque on December 15 of this year bearing the names of supporters through the Centennial Club.

To join the Harvey House Centennial Club and have a name inscribed on the plaque costs $100 and is limited to the first 100 participants. All funds raised will be put back into the preservation of the interior of the Harvey House.  Deadline is October 15th.

Tours of the Harvey House are also available.

For information on joining the Harvey House Centennial Club, call the Brownwood Area Chamber of Commerce at 325-646-9535.